Charter Day Visit to Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge

As part of the Company’s Charter Celebrations this year we are delighted to be visiting Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge, which overlooks Epping Forest.

As part of the Company’s Charter Celebrations this year we are delighted to be visiting Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge, which overlooks Epping Forest.

Queen Elizabeth's Hunting Lodge, originally known as Great Standing was built by order of Henry VIII in 1543. The hunt "standing" is constructed of massive oak timbers which illustrate the skills of the royal craftsmen.

After extensive renovation by Queen Elizabeth 1st in 1589 it was renamed as Queen Elizabeth’s hunting Lodge and is a unique example of a surviving timber-framed hunt standing still surrounded by its medieval royal hunting forest.It was acquired by the Corporation of London in 1878 and is now part of the Corporation of London’s Epping Forest. The last complete restoration was carried out after extensive surveys in the early 1990s revealing many new facets of the building .

After our tour we will have a “posh picnic” at the Lodge as unfortunately the restaurant that we had booked for lunch cancelled the reservation; hence the delay in the distribution of this calling notice.

The Tour is free of charge. The picnic (including wine) will be £20 per head.

Event Properties

Event Date 29th July 2018 - 11:30 am
Event End Date 29th July 2018 - 3:00 pm
Capacity Unlimited
Location
Queen Elizabeth's Hunting Lodge
8 Rangers Road, Chingford
Queen Elizabeth's Hunting Lodge